Exploring in the East

I’m back from two and a half months of travel in China and New Zealand. An adventure I’d been dreaming about taking for years and it did not disappoint! I’m afraid that I let blog and twitter updates slip while I was away. I really wanted to focus on the moment, just being there. Painting on the Great Wall, sketching sumptuous temples, drawing mountains and rivers in the wilderness of New Zealand. Exploring, being outside, getting away from screens and using my body. And it felt really good to do so!

Everyone says it, but I definitely learned more about myself whilst travelling. There were sides of my personality that came out that I didn’t know existed. Sometimes positive, other times negative. But I think my main takeaway, was reminding myself of something I already knew; I love to be outside, I feel alive when I’m outside, in nature, rooted on the earth and surrounded by plants.

Now I’m back I want to hold onto those things and keep them in my mind so I can continue to work towards them and make sure they stay a constant part of my life. I’ll be sharing my travel sketchbook with you soon, but for now, here are a few of my stand out photographs from the trip. Mainly plucked from instagram as I do love a good filter!

One thought on “Exploring in the East

Leave a Reply

