Secret 7

owlstation_secret7_illustration_1

I took part in this year’s Secret 7. A nice, inspiring project which invites creatives from all over the world to interpret designs for 7” record sleeves based on one of 7 songs chosen each year. The designs are not allowed to feature the artist name or track title (hence the secret bit!). Whilst my entry wasn’t selected for the charity exhibition I was really glad I took part. I chose to create a piece for the Tame Impala track ‘The Less I know The Better’ a melancholy song with hints of unrequited love, lust and longing.

owlstation_secret7_illustration_detail_1

I wanted to push my conceptual thinking but found it tricky to choose an idea. Finding a way to reflect the themes of the song without feeling too obvious or being influenced by existing media attached to it. Eventually it was the electronic sounds that inspired me the most. I felt they had an underwater-like quality to them conjuring imagery of ripples and watery light. I also enjoyed the lyric ‘Wait ten years we’ll be together’.

I imagined that the lover in the song was banished to an isolated underwater lair and forced to wait, striking off each year on a seaweed covered rock until they could return to their love. Something like that. I’m pretty pleased how the final piece turned out. It uses a mixture of watercolour, oil pastel and pencil. It helped me to explore use of composition and layers texture.

owlstation_secret7_worksheet_2

owlstation_secret7_worksheet_1

 

Leave a Reply

